Versatile? You better believe it!

Versatile Blogger Award

I love the Versatile Blog Award, because I think it really DOES describe me! I’m versatile in a lot of ways, in and out of the bedroom. 😉 This is my second time receiving this award and I am quite flattered!! 😀

A special thanks to Jack Joseph’s Mom for nominating me! I encourage you all to check out her blog. As someone who has suffered a rather traumatic miscarriage myself, I really feel for her. Even though I already had children, it affected me quite a bit. I passed my 8 week old baby/fetus onto the bathroom floor and wasn’t willing to let it go for a while, finally burying him/her in a little box in my yard. You could definitely see the features of my little developing baby, still inside the sac. I took pictures and everything.

To people who haven’t experienced something similar I’m sure it seems morbid, but that was all a part of processing the grief. I wanted to show everyone the baby and the pictures and not everyone wanted to see, which I understand, but to me it was important to acknowledge that my baby was real. I thank her for helping open people’s eyes and understanding.

On to the award! I again get to give 7 facts about myself and nominate 15 fellow bloggers! Woohoo!! In keeping with the spirit of versatility, I’m going to start out with some ways in which I fit the description.

1. From a very early age I was exposed to a lot of different people, cultures and ways of life. I was born in Hawaii, which is a melting pot in its own right, where people don’t wear shoes in the house and Polynesian and Asian traditions and languages mix in with a hodgepodge of others. Eventually we moved away and my mother married a man from South America, who barely spoke English. Of course, with him came his family and their traditions. So this little white girl had an Abuela and Abuelo and a zillion aunties, uncles and cousins. Later, my mother married a black man and I was immersed in a different subset of American culture. His family may have been less than thrilled that he was married to a white woman, but as for me, being a child, I was accepted and brought into the fold, again amongst a multitude of relatives. My mother’s mother is part Greek and my father was part Native American so add that to the mix and you can see how I grew to easily adapt.

2. Probably because of all this, I’ve always found it relatively easy to feel at home with different groups of people. In my teen years I could be found at all black parties (other than me of course) in the hood, or across town living it up with the rich white kids. The next day I might be running around with my Mexican girlfriends or drinking with the Natives. I could be seen with a group of friends with blue and green hair, mowhawks and various piercings, or with some sorority girls, depending on the day. During my married years I blended in with the conservative church folks and we lived surrounded by Amish. The only people I really seem to have a hard time relating to are redneck country people and hicks, lol. Not that I haven’t tried, it’s just the mindset seems harder to understand.

3. However, being the “white kid” growing up did have its disadvantages, lol. Occasionally it got me “drafted” into doing things my dumb ass should have said no to. As in “hey, Lovergirl, you’re white! Why don’t YOU return these stolen items to the store and get us some money! They’ll believe YOU!” Or “hey, let’s go to McDonald’s and Lovergirl can tell them they got our order wrong, so we all get free food!” I was a little too willing to go along with these schemes, lol, perhaps due to my overly kind, accommodating nature combined with lack of fear and faith in my ability to appear “innocent” but hey, most of the time it worked! It’s even been “here Lovergirl, hold my gun while I run into this gas station” and sweet talking teachers or the police. Yeah, I guess I’m blessed with a lot of pure luck too, lmao.

4. Speaking of stealing, I went through a phase as a teenager where I did some unsavory things, and that was one of them. I had a girlfriend who could walk into virtually any store and rob them blind. As far as I know she still does. My sister said awhile back that she asked her if she “needed anything” when she went shopping, lol.

From her, I learned some tricks. For one, she used to walk into a store, with no makeup on and just use whatever they had available to get ready to go out for the night. Like she’d be opening up eye shadows and mascara’s and lipstick, just putting it on there in the store, with no concern about whether or not she got caught. She’d finish with a spritz of perfume and off we’d go to a club or something, lol. SMH…..

I loved her to death but I even caught her stealing clothes from ME. Eyeroll…. Anyhow we used to walk into grocery stores and just walk out the door with 2 liters of pop, chips, whatever. One time another girlfriend and I filled an entire grocery cart, with things like pot pies and such and threw some empty boxes on top. Me, being the “white girl”, went up and sweetly asked the manager if it was okay for us to have these boxes and he said yes. So we took all of our loot and loaded up! Bad, bad!

5. Oh, that wasn’t the only thing. I worked in a donut shop and a savvy (this time white) girl taught me how to pretend I was ringing up a dozen and only charge for one donut, pocketing the rest of the money. I also handed out tons of free dozens to friends, rationalizing that they threw away so many anyway, that it wasn’t that big of a deal. It’s true that they trashed huge bagfuls of donuts at the end of every night and because of some stupid regulations couldn’t even donate them to homeless people, who would instead come digging in the trash can after hours. Oh, and the friend who showed me how to pilfer the money? She went on to become a teacher, then a scientist and now a lawyer…hmmm… I knew a preacher’s daughter too, in college, who would take stuff from Walmart all the time.

6. I also went through a “car-hopping”, as we used to call it, phase. We never stole much of any real value, but we did dress in dark clothes, tape our fingers and break into vehicles to see what we could find. Stupid, just stupid, lol, considering most of what we ended up with was spare change anyhow and at first we were actually dumb enough to use scotch tape. ::: slapping forehead :::

Thankfully I outgrew all of that. I think I’ve mentioned before that my mother never has. She is a total klepto. If that is a real disorder, then she has it. She even stole a freaking VACUUM CLEANER for my baby sister’s new apartment. How the hell, in this day and age do you get away with that? I don’t even want to know…

7. I feel like I need to redeem myself here, lest you lose all respect for me, haha. Really though, now that I’m all grown up I’m pretty straight and narrow. I try and avoid all illegal activity. My focus is on being a good mom and example.

I still enjoy talking to people from all walks of life and the accompanying diversity. So let me proceed with introducing you to some more of the many interesting blogs out there!!

1. A True Unfolding
2. His Princess 307
3. Inner Musings of a Scarlet Woman
4. Love, Sex and Marriage
5. Ding Dong, its Mr. Wrong!
6. My Life as I Know It
7. Of Fries and Men
8. Secret Diary Of a Girl
9. Research to be Done
10. The Narcissist’s Blog
11. A Girl Named Clay
12. The Bad Wife’s Guide
13. Diary of a Lolita
14. Mr. Guy Pants
15. Ask Miriam

5 thoughts on “Versatile? You better believe it!

  1. that was a nice collection of a variety of bloggers. I found a few good new ones to follow. thank you! 🙂

  2. Pingback: *curtsy* | Love Sex and Marriage

Leave a Reply

