Yeah, so I’m a drama queen, now what?

Ugggghh…. I sooo hate relationship drama!! Don’t we all though? Still it has a way of moving its way in once “feelings” start developing for another person. At least it seems to for me and I know I’m not the only one.

Funny thing is that there are men in my life who think I’m the most drama free woman alive. Yet others seem to think of me as a class A drama queen, all the way at the top of the list. Sigh….

I feel like I can be really good at not causing drama so long as I keep my emotional distance from someone. Once I start to feel vulnerable however, all bets are off. For the majority of my marriage we NEVER even fought and it was because I had shut myself off from him on an emotional level. We did however, argue BEFORE we got married (yeah, we had it kinda backwards). There was some arguing during the divorce, when we were still stuck living together and tension was high and neither of us wanted to be there anymore, but, for the most part, no. Of course there were some passive aggressive undercurrents going on but outwardly we were stable. We really don’t argue now at all either, after the fact. We just don’t talk, except about things we absolutely have to regarding the kids.

The most pertinent relationships with guys in my life, I hate to say it, but they have been more filled with drama than any of the ones that were not important to me. That’s bad. I know it’s bad. I don’t want it to be that way. It’s something I am bound and determined to work on within myself, it’s just…slow progress.

Some people say that when you fall in love with someone you start to associate them with your parents and childhood growing up. For me that’s a really bad thing because I had a pretty traumatic life as a child. My mom is a drug addict. My dad was absent most of my life. I had multiple abusive stepfathers, some of whom also abused my mother. I witnessed and experienced things no child should ever have to. Somehow though, I’ve managed to pull through life pretty well despite it all, in general.

I went to a couple of psychologists as a teenager and they just couldn’t get over how “well adjusted” I seemed and “normal” despite my difficult background. They didn’t feel I really needed treatment. I seemed extraordinarily able to cope. So of course I played along with their image of me and let them believe everything was okay, putting on a front of being capable and emotionally stable, which is easy for me to do. It’s easy UNTIL I get in a place where I can’t hide behind the walls I’ve erected to protect myself.

So I’m fine. I’m fine until I get in a relationship with someone and start to open up and let down my guard. It’s then that I become paranoid, fearful and insecure, panic, and then start to push people away. Someone getting close enough to actually be able to hurt me is a scary experience. It’s a loss of control that I really struggle to be able to handle.

It takes a really stable, strong, steady type of man to be able to deal with me when I’m a whirlwind of emotion and there don’t seem to be many who make the cut. Thankfully I think the Professor is just that type of guy, but I still feel terrible for putting him through what I have the past couple of days. I know it’s me and not him. He’s been really good to me. Kindhearted, honest, perfect really. I know I upset him a lot though with this last incident and that makes me feel awful.

I think the “poly” situation makes it so much harder because I am in a very unstable position with him. He’s emotionally involved with someone else and I’m starting to really fall in love with him. It terrifies the hell out of me. He says he feels the same way about me and it’s really hard for me to understand how that can even be possible when there is another woman in the picture. The sexual sharing I think I can handle but emotionally? Not so much.

Then he’s saying stuff like he feels the same way but we need to hold back to be able to swing together and stuff. To me it seems like it should be the opposite, you should have someone you are emotionally “safe” with in order to swing and I don’t know that I could ever have that with someone who is emotionally into another woman. I really just don’t like her presence at all. Even though she hasn’t actually seen him in a couple of months, they still talk. She’s still a threat to me. I’m still uncomfortable with it because it’s not JUST sex. He has admitted she is in love with him, though he says that he is not in love with her. It’s confusing to me because I don’t think I would keep someone around for long if that were the case and I had someone in my life I DID care for. I guess I’m naturally very EMOTIONALLY monogamous, even though I like some variety in sex so it’s hard for me to comprehend.

Anyway, I’ve been getting some therapy that has nothing to do with him whatsoever, but to help with issues I’ve been having with my oldest child and his behavioral problems. He is already in counseling and this is therapy focused on ME and my feelings but I haven’t discussed any of my romantic or sexual relationships. The therapist thinks I suffer from Post- Traumatic Stress. She made that judgment pretty quickly, based on very little info, so I’m not 100% sure that’s the case, but I can see how it could be true.

In any case what she is doing is using EMDR therapy to help me. You can look it up if you’ve never heard of it but it involves reprogramming your mind to associate positive feelings with past traumatic events in your life. You hold onto these little vibrating thingies that are supposed to stimulate both sides of your brain at once while you imagine calm and peaceful things whilst discussing whatever memories your mind randomly brings to you during conversation with the therapist. It’s been surprisingly helpful and I leave each session feeling calmer and less stressed overall.

Maybe getting this help for myself will help me to reign in some of my drama queen tendencies. The Professor and I had this big long drawn out “discussion” going on and off for about 3 days after the most recent incident with the woman leaving a note out on his dresser, that he says is from months ago (I actually do believe him, he’s never given me any reason to believe he is dishonest and actually is one of the more truthful, straightforward guys I’ve ever met). When I came out of my counseling session with EMDR I felt SO much better and was able to text and resolve things with him to the point that I think we are okay now.

That’s not a guarantee I won’t get upset with him in the future but I really, really want to work on it and he’s probably a great guy to be able to do that with. He’s very calm and steady and I like that a lot and am very attracted to those traits in a man. Some women are looking for excitement but I seem to be the complete opposite and it’s probably due to having such a chaotic childhood. Actually one of the reasons I chose to marry my ex- husband was that he rarely ever raised his voice. Hearing people, and especially men, YELL causes me a lot of anxiety and stress. I didn’t want that in my home at all.

The Professor came here a few weeks ago to help me put together a bed for one of my children. It was a lot of work and took about 3 hours, but he was just so CALM and PATIENT about it, very organized and he NEVER acted frustrated or stressed. It was so opposite of my ex, who though he didn’t yell much would act so awful when trying to do something like that and find a way to blame me for all his frustration. It was like this huge relief dropped off of my shoulders. I think maybe that’s when I really started to fall for him. It made me so happy that he offered to do something like that for me when he didn’t have to and then made it seem so simple and non stressful. Swoon….(lol) Anyway, I’m happy to say that for now anyway, things are back to normal with us. I really hope I can get a grip on how to handle this whole poly relationship thing because I really, deep down, want him EMOTIONALLY to myself. Sexually, I’m not ready to stop sleeping with other people so I don’t expect him to either, but that’s my big stumbling block.

2 thoughts on “Yeah, so I’m a drama queen, now what?

  1. It’s often the case in poly that men are most jealous of sexual sharing and women are most upset with emotional sharing. It IS hard. It’s especially hard when the relationships are newer or just forming. Of course it’s hard to trust the new guy! He’s new! It takes time and experience to build trust and the understanding that him loving another woman won’t change his love for you. He has to prove it.
    Of course.. I have to trust him a little.. risk something and give him enough space to prove it. It also helps that I’m poly. I firmly believe and have experienced loving more than one person now and I get it and can see that the people I love can too. It takes a lot of dealing with my own insecurities and my jealousies, because I’m not blessed like some people are with no jealousy.. I just have to process it and it actually works and goes away. Thank god, but yeah.. it’s work.

    • Yeah, the Professor says it bugs him knowing if I sleep with another guy, even if its only 2 minutes and there is not an emotional connection. To me that wouldn’t be that big of a deal. It’s so hard for me to wrap my head around the way men view things sometimes.

      We do need to build trust. I’m finding myself feeling less trustful, rather than more, after this situation though. Its like it wasn’t resolved the way I wanted it to be and now I’m a bit leery. I really struggle with the “loving” two people at once too. Like isn’t there always going to be a more intense love with one person than another? It seems like there is for me when it comes to that “in love” feeling. Its hard for me to experience that with two people at the same time. I pretty much lost the emotional connection I had with the other guy I was seeing in that way when I met the Professor. Like my emotions can only focus on one guy at a time, while I can have FRIENDSHIPS with sex or other connections with sex but only “feelings” for one person at once. My natural instinct is to withdraw from anyone else who might be vying for my romantic attention when I am “falling in love”.

      Jealousy, yeah, that is hard for me too. Its really hard for me to feel like I’m being compared to someone else especially. He’s made comments about how she wouldn’t get upset with him for finding something from me (well, he says she would get upset but she wouldn’t SAY it) because she knows better but that just made me feel more upset. It was like why are you comparing my reaction to hers? UGH. I am honest about my feelings and she is hiding them and that makes her somehow better than me? Fine then don’t waste your time with me…sheesh. I want to be over it and we’ve been “back to normal” for a bit but if I think about it I am still bothered. :/

Leave a Reply

